I had planned to post this at midnight, but phone calls with great friends delayed me, which is totally worth it. First, the annual New Year's survey:
1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?
got married, sat on the committee for a conference, paid down a lot of debt, advised a Women's Center, booked a speaker by connecting on Twitter, ran a large-scale donation program, tried new vegetables, worked a full time job and a part time job at the same time, ran two(!) 5Ks, started p90x

2. Did you keep your New Year's resolutions and will you make more for this year?
I started out with 100 Days of Fitness last year, but I'll get into this year's resolutions down below.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Oh so many! Marie had Owen, Corrie had John-John, Marci had Eliot, Kelly had Noah and a bunch of acquaintances had bundles of joy as well! 2010 was the Year of the Baby!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Along with birth comes death....this year we lost Lloyd in July and my wonderful Aunt Diane in November.

5. What countries did you visit?
Just the USA

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Haha...less weight would be nice....but there is nothing else that is standing out to me.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched on your memory and why?
May 17-23-Spring Give 'n Go Program
July 10-Bridal Shower in NEPA
September 12-Bridal Shower in Altoona
October 4-Dr. Lissa Rankin came to speak at Conn
October 23-Wedding!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I have a couple-performing in the amazing Vag Mons performances here, Spring Give 'n Go, and our beautiful wedding

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not finishing 100 Days of Fitness and steadily gaining weight

10. What was the best thing you bought?
The bridal party gifts for the wedding-we picked each of them specifically for that person and I think they really liked them.

11. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Matt, Amy, our family and friends who supported us in October, my mother

12. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
some of my students

13. Where did most of your money go?
Wedding and traveling

14. What did you get really, really excited about?
V-Week and Vag Mons, both of my showers, Ask the Girlfriend Gyno, the 5Ks and of course, the wedding

15. What song will always remind you of 2010?
"Better Together" by Jack Johnson-our wedding song

16. Compared to this time last year are you:
i. happier or sadder? happier
ii. thinner or fatter? fatter
iii. richer or poorer? richer

17. What do you wish you'd done more of?
dieting and picture taking

18. What do you wish you'd done less of?
worrying about the little things

19. How will you be spending Christmas?
With the family

20. Did you fall in love in 2010?
Already was and remained the same-unless you count the babies in my life, then yes, more love right there!

21. How many one night stands?
None

22. What was your favorite tv program?
Grey's and GLEE!

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate at this time last year?
Not really

24. What was the best book you read?
This question is always so hard because I read so much-The Birth House is sticking out in my head right now because I just finished it. I loved The Red Queen and The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Didn't really have one.

26. What did you want and get?
A beautiful wedding surrounded by our friends and family

27. What did you want and not get?
Matt getting a job that did not involve over nights.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
I haven't even seen Harry Potter yet, so I don't think I can answer this question.

29. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
I turned 28. Matt and I went to the farmer's market in Old Saybrook in the morning, had lunch and amazing ice cream, then came home and Matt went to sleep and I moped, then went shopping with Hez the next day.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Losing weight like I had promised myself I would.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Business casual with athletic

32. What kept you sane?
Matt, Amy, Marie, Sarah, Chris, Sarah, Meg and Kate

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
None really

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Health care reform, the war

35. Who do you miss?
A lot of people

36. Who was the best new person you met?
My new HFs and FGs and the people I met through NEACUHO

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
You create your own change. Own it and make it.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Love is the answer at least for most of the questions in my heart, like
Why are we here? And where do we go? And how come it's so hard?
It's not always easy and sometimes life can be deceiving
I'll tell you one thing, it's so much better when we're together


Now for resolutions:
1. Get my body baby-ready:
  • That means improving my nutrition (more fruit and vegetables, less processed crap going into my system).
  • Working with my chiropractor to work out my hip problems. I'd like to be able to work through my pregnancy, which means I still need to be able to walk. With my hips and back the way they are now, I would be having trouble walking near the end.
  • Continuing to exercise. I'd like to get back to running eventually, but I'll settle for walking until my hips are more healed.
  • Taking care of health problems when they come up instead of pushing through them. *knocks on wood* I haven't had a cold or flu yet this winter and I'm hoping I can make it through the rest of the season without one.
2. Continue my professional development:
  • I love the work I'm doing with NEACUHO and want to continue it for as long as I'm in the region. That means attending things like the Women's Retreat next Friday and the Annual Conference in June.
  • Continue to work on projects like V-Week and Spring Give 'n Go to give depth to my resume.
  • Begin to look into mid-level positions and what experiences I need to move into them. 
3. Sustain and improve relationships with friends and family. This one's easy-call more, travel more.

4. Save more money. Matt and I put a big dent in our debt after the wedding and we'd like to get it down to just my car loan and student loan debt by the end of this year as well as put money into our emergency fund and family fund.

Now for the fun stuff (w/ pictures!). I wanted to make something special for Matt for dinner tonight since it was New Year's Eve and decided to do a meal of appetizers. Here's the spread:

Picture
Spinach and Artichoke Dip (WW recipe), Mama Bunn's Cheese Ball, Bruschetta, Crab Dip and Champagne. There's about 2 1/2 packages of cream cheese on that table. We definitely ate until we were stuffed, but it was super good. Here's a picture of my hubby toasting to the New Year:
Picture
We then ate some brownies with cookie batter on top and collapsed onto the couch. Matt napped while I watched 30 Rock and read the Kindle in it's awesome new case. Check it out:

Picture
Looks like a normal journal or book, right?
Picture
Opens to reveal our Kindle and a Bunn bookplate!
So Matt went off to work and I called Meg to catch up. We exchanged stories and at about 11:58, Matt called! So I was able to at least be on the phone with him for the New Year. I think I'm finally finished writing, so I'm signing off to get some sleep. Matt and I are planning on taking a hike tomorrow as our New Year's Day tradition continues. Hopefully this time I won't fall on the ice and bruise my butt!



Leave a Reply.